Inaugural Futsal Championship to begin in New Delhi in November

Mudeet Arora
AIFF will kick of it's inaugural Futsal Club Championship in New Delhi in November
AIFF will kick of it's inaugural Futsal Club Championship in New Delhi in November / SADIQ ASYRAF/GettyImages

The inaugural edition of the Futsal Club Championship that is being organised by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) is all set to take place from November 5 to November 13 in New Delhi.

This championship will be the first of it's kind to be held in India on a national level by the AIFF.

16 top Futsal teams from across the nation will be participating in the competition and will be divided into four groups.

The tournament will be held in a round-robin format with each group winners qualifying for the semi-final.

On the announcement of this exciting tournament, ANI quoted AIFF President Praful Patel stating, "The inaugural edition of the Hero Futsal Club Championship is a part of AIFF's effort of holistic development for the development of the sport in the country. I would like to congratulate the 16 teams for coming on board and wish them good luck for the Championship."

AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das said, "The Futsal Club Championship is another feather in the AIFF's cap. The first edition is just the beginning and will go a long way in improving the technical skills of the players. I urge all State Associations to conduct Futsal Leagues with good participation from local clubs. Good luck to all participating clubs."

The list of 16 clubs for the Futsal Club Championship are:

Baroda FC (Gujarat)

Chanmari Zothan Futsal (Mizoram)

Kuppuraj FC (Puducherry)

Super Strikers FC (Karnataka)

Speed Force FC (Telangana)

Sporting Clube de Goa (Goa)

Delhi FC (Delhi)

Real Kashmir FC (Kashmir)

Telongjem FC (Nagaland)

Classic Football Academy (Manipur)

Mangal Club (Odisha)

Niaw Wasa United Sports & Cultural Club (Meghalaya)

Bengaluru FC (Karnataka)

TRAU FC (Manipur)

Mohammedan SC (West Bengal)

Sudeva Delhi FC (Delhi).