Indian Football

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifier: India vs Afghanistan Preview, Where to Watch, Team News and Prediction

Arjun Singh Devgan
India v United Arab Emirates - AFC Asian Cup Group A
India v United Arab Emirates - AFC Asian Cup Group A / Etsuo Hara/Getty Images

The Indian national football team will face Afghanistan in their final Group E match of the joint 2022 FIFA World Cup and the 2023 AFC Asian Cup second round qualifiers at Doha, on Tuesday, 15 June.

The Blue Tigers finally broke their 11-match winless run under Igor Stimac against Bangladesh in their second game and they had talisman, Sunil Chhetri to thank as his brace on the night gave them their first win of the qualifiers.

The final group game will bear immense significance for both sides as the third-placed team will secure a direct entry into the third round of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers - which means that Stimac's men will need to avoid a defeat on the night in order to keep hold of their third position on and enter the third round of Asian qualifiers directly. A loss, meanwhile, will see them slip down to fourth, adding the extra burden of navigating the playoff round to stay in contention.

Here's everything you need to know about India's clash with Afghanistan tomorrow.

Where and when to watch the game in India?

The Star Sports network will telecast the game on TV. The broadcast will start live at 7:30pm Indian Standard Time on Star Sports 2/ Star Sports 2 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi/ Star Sports 1 Hindi HD, Star Sports 3, Star Sports 1 Tamil, Star Sports 1 Telugu, Star Sports 1 Kannada, Star Sports 1 Bangla.

Can India qualify for the 2022 World Cup?

The Blue Tigers are currently out of contention for a place in the 2022 World Cup, but a third place finish is within their reach, thus ensuring that they can book a direct berth in the third round of the 2023 AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers.

Team News:


Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Dheeraj Singh.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Rahul Bheke, Narender Gehlot, Chinglensana Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Adil Khan, Akash Mishra, Subhashish Bose.

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Liston Colaco, Rowllin Borges, Glan Martins, Anirudh Thapa, Pronoy Halder, Suresh Singh, Apuia, Abdul Sahal, Yasir Md, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Bipin Singh, Ashique K.

Forwards: Manvir Singh, Sunil Chhetri, Ishan Pandita.