ATK Mohun Bagan News

Fans React as Roy Krishna Extends ATK Mohun Bagan Contract

Mudeet Arora
Roy Krishna has extended his contract at ATK Mohun Bagan
Roy Krishna has extended his contract at ATK Mohun Bagan / Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Fiji striker Roy Krishna has signed a contract extension at Indian Super League club ATK Mohun Bagan and will be staying on at the club for atleast one more year.

Krishna has been one of the best players in the ISL since he stepped foot in the league. He scored 14 goals in 23 games last season as ATK Mohun Bagan finished second in the league phase and lost in the final to Mumbai City FC.

After completing the signing of Hugo Boumous from Mumbai City FC, there were rumours circulating that the Islanders were trying to lure Krishna as revenge, however, that is not going to happen, at least for another year.

Krishna has been ATK MB's talisman since he arrived at the club back in 2019. He led the club to the ISL title in his first full season with them.

The Fijian scored 15 goals and notched up six assists in 21 appearances that season.

The following season when ATK merged with Mohun Bagan, he was retained by the newly formed club. ATK Mohun Bagan ended up as runners-up in their first ever season in the ISL.

And today, on the occasion of 'Mohun Bagan day', the club has announced the news of his contract extension as a surprise to fans.

As expected, fans on Twitter reacted in huge numbers to this news, with some fans still talking about how they are not happy with the club and the merger as they failed to mention anything about today being Mohun Bagan Day.

ATK Mohun Bagan have had a pretty impressive transfer window this summer as they have signed the likes of Hugo Boumous, Joni Kauko, Ashutosh Mehta and Liston Colaco.

They also managed to keep hold of important foreign players like David Williams and Carl McHugh.

The East Indian club are now undergoing their pre-season camp in Kolkata and will soon be in Maldives to feature in the AFC Cup from August 19, when they are scheduled to take on the winner from the game between Club Eagles and Bengaluru FC.