Champions League

European Super League Clubs Have Reportedly Signed a 23-Year Commitment to the Tournament

Mudeet Arora
ESL clubs have signed a 23-year commitment to the tournament
ESL clubs have signed a 23-year commitment to the tournament / PAUL ELLIS/Getty Images

The 12 founding members of the European Super League have reportedly gone ahead and signed a 23-year commitment to the new competition.

Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal, Inter Milan, AC Milan, Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid and Barcelona have all agreed to these plans that will change the face of football as we know it.

In news that will anger more and more football supporters, Sky Sports are reporting that the clubs have agreed to participate until 2044 and believe they cannot be stopped in their bid to make the league happen.

Speaking on Sky Sports News, journalist Kaveh Solhekol said: "These founding clubs, the 12 clubs and three more who could be joining as founding members, have signed a 23-year commitment to this new Super League. That is how serious they are."

He added, "They're also saying the legal advice that these clubs have received is that they cannot be stopped from doing this. They believe that if they were stopped from doing this it would be a breach of EU and UK competition rules. The clubs believe money will filter down and help the wider game."

Reuters say the founding clubs are to share a $4.19 billion fund that will go towards helping respond to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as other projects.