EURO 2020

Euro 2020: 5 Clubs Who Have Sent the Most Players to the Tournament

Arjun Singh Devgan
Jun 11, 2021, 12:45 PM GMT+5:30
The Euro 2020 is scheduled to start on June 11, Friday
The Euro 2020 is scheduled to start on June 11, Friday / Franco Origlia/Getty Images

The 2020 European Championships is almost upon us with the tournament set to start on Friday. Widely considered as one of the more competitive international tournaments, it will see a number of top international stars take part in it.

Here, we take a look at the five clubs who have contributed the most number of players who will take part in the tournament.

1. Chelsea - 15 Players

Cesar Azpilicueta Tanco
Manchester City v Chelsea FC - UEFA Champions League Final / Visionhaus/Getty Images

Chelsea started the 2020/21 season under uncertainty regarding their position in Europe, but eventually ended the campaign as Champions League winners under Thomas Tuchel.

They have sent the joint-highest players to Euro 2020 along with Manchester City and those players are - Jorginho (Italy), Emerson (Italy), Andreas Christensen (Denmark), Mateo Kovacic (Croatia), Mason Mount (England), Ben Chilwell (England), Reece James (England), England), Billy Gilmour (Scotland), Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain), Olivier Giroud (France), N'Golo Kante (France), Kurt Zouma (France), Antonio Rudiger (Germany), Kai Havertz (Germany), and Timo Werner (Germany).

2. Manchester City - 15 Players

Fernandinho, Benjamin Mendy, Riyad Mahrez, Ederson, Sergio Aguero
Manchester City v Everton - Premier League / Michael Regan/Getty Images

The Premier League champions and Champions League finalists, Manchester City too have 15 players from their club representing their respective national teams.

Here are the 15 Manchester City players confirmed to be participating in Euro 2020 - Kyle Walker (England), John Stones (England), Raheem Sterling (England), Phil Foden (England), Ferran Torres (Spain), Eric Garcia (Spain) , Rodri (Spain), Aymeric Laporte (Spain), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium), Nathan Ake (Netherlands), Oleksandr Zinchenko (Ukraine), Ruben Dias (Portugal), Bernardo Silva (Portugal), Joao Cancelo (Portugal) and Ilkay Gundogan (Germany).

3. Bayern Munich - 14 Players

FC Bayern Muenchen v FC Augsburg - Bundesliga
FC Bayern Muenchen v FC Augsburg - Bundesliga / Alexander Hassenstein/Getty Images

Bayern Munich have been one of the best clubs in Europe in the recent past and once again dominated the Bundesliga in the 2020/21 season. The Bavarians sent eight German players to the Euro in the form of, Manuel Neuer, Joshua Kimmich, Serge Gnabry, Jamal Musiala, Niklas Sule, Leon Goretzka, Leroy Sane and Thomas Muller.

In addition, six other Bayern Munich players who will take part in Euro 2020 are David Alaba (Austria), Robert Lewandowski (Poland), Benajmin Pavard (France), Corentin Tolisso (France), Kingsley Coman (France) and Lucas Hernandez (France).

4. Juventus - 12 Players

Gianluigi Buffon, Paolo Dal Pino
Atalanta BC v Juventus - TIMVISION Cup Final / Jonathan Moscrop/Getty Images

Another superpower in European football, Juventus too have a number of their players participating in Euro 2020, with 12 going to the tournament. Four players have been called up by the Italian national team, namely Giorgio Chiellini, Federico Chiesa, Leonardo Bonucci and Federico Bernardeschi.

The rest of the players are Merih Demiral (Turkey), Aaron Ramsey (Wales), Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands), Wojciech Szczesny (Poland), Alvaro Morata (Spain), Dejan Kulusevski (Sweden), Adrien Rabiot (France) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal).

5. Manchester United - 11 Players

Bruno Fernandes, Nemanja Matic, Donny van de Beek, Harry Maguire
Brighton & Hove Albion v Manchester United - Premier League / Pool/Getty Images

Manchester United might have fallen off their pedestal in the recent past, but they still have a number of top players in their ranks. The Red Devils will see 11 of their stars participate in the Euro 2020 and they are - aniel James (Wales), Donny van de Beek (Netherlands), Luke Shaw (England), Harry Maguire (England), Marcus Rashford (England), Dean Henderson (England), Scott McTominay (Scotland), David de Gea (Spain), Victor Lindelof (Sweden), Paul Pogba (France) and Bruno Fernandes (Portugal).

Note: Donny van de Beek has been included as he was called up, though he will not play for Netherlands after withdrawing due to injury.