Indian Football

Delhi FC win inaugural Futsal Club Championship

Arjun Singh Devgan
Premier Futsal League Final: Delhi Dragons vs. Mumbai Warriors
Premier Futsal League Final: Delhi Dragons vs. Mumbai Warriors / Cedric Ribeiro/GettyImages

Delhi FC were crowned the first ever Futsal Club Championship winners after the side beat Kolkata giants Mohammedan Sporting 7-2 in the final of the inaugural Futsal Club Championship at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium in New Delhi on Saturday, 13 November.

Delhi skipper, Nikhil Mali capped off a brilliant tournament by scoring five goals on the night to take his overall tally to 28 goals, which meant that he netted at least three goals in every match that he played.

It was a successful tournament for the north Indian side who came into the competition as the favourites and lived up to their billing with Mali also securing individual honours in the form of the top goalscorer and Most Valuable Player.

Futsal Club Championship Awards

Most Valuable Player: Nikhil Mali (Delhi FC)

Top Goalscorer: Nikhil Mali (Delhi FC)

Best Goalkeeper: Scott Moraes (Delhi FC)

Fair Play Award: Mangala Club

(Delhi FC)

(Delhi FC)

(Delhi FC)