Blow for East Bengal - ISL to Consist of 10 Teams for the 2020-21 Season

East Bengal
East Bengal | Business Standard

In a recent meeting with the stakeholders, the Indian Super League organisers, FSDL have announced that there are no plans to increase number of teams in the new season.

This news reported by Goal comes as a major blow to Kolkata giants East Bengal who have been doing everything they can in order to enter India's top tier.

After recently parting ways with their former investors Quess Corp. Bengal have been looking for new sponsors to enter the ISL, but it looks like they will be playing at least another season in the I-League.

This decision probably marks the temporary end to the legendary rivalry between East Bengal and Mohun Bagan with the latter set to debut in the ISL after their merger with ATK.

It was also announced that they are already working on the fixtures for next season and is expected to made public on August 31.

Moreover, the venue for the 2020-21 season will be declared on August 7. Goa and Kerala are believed to be leading the race and Goa is likely to get the nod as the sole location where ISL's next season will be played.

ISL has shortlisted three venues at each state under consideration. The 10 teams will be based in these three venues, with four camped at one stadium and the three each at the other two venues.