Referee Alejandro Hernandez Hernandez chose not to award Real Madrid a penalty after Felipe involuntarily handled the ball inside the box in the first half of the match, much to the frustration of Los Blancos. Hernandez even took a look at the incident on the pitchside VAR monitor, but was insistent an offence had not been committed, which former La Liga referee Juan Andujar Oliver said was the right decision.
Speaking after the match, Madrid's director of institutional relations, Emilio Butragueno said he believes it was a penalty, while Casemiro stated if it had not touched Felipe's arm, he was going to score the goal. Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane though refused to give his opinion on the decision.
Real Madrid's criticism of Hernandez has not gone down well with Atletico Madrid, who took an apparent swipe at the defending league champions on Twitter, posting "They even criticise correct decisions... Some people are used to always having the wind behind them."
Meanwhile, Atletico Madrid, who enjoy a three-point lead over second-placed FC Barcelona, have a chance to extend it when they play the game they have in hand, against Athletic Club on Wednesday.