Indian Football

AIFF Announce India National Football Team's 2021 SAFF Championship Fixtures and Dates

Ali Shibil Roshan
Indian national football team coach Igor Stimac
Indian national football team coach Igor Stimac / Pakawich Damrongkiattisak/Getty Images

All India Football Federation (AIFF) have announced the dates for India national football team’s matches in the 2021 SAFF Championship, which will be held in Maldives in October.

The Blue Tigers will kick-off their campaign with a match against Bangladesh on October 3. Igor Stimac’s side will then face Sri Lanka on October 6, Nepal on October 8, hosts and defending champions Maldives on October 11. The top two teams from the group stage will progress to the final, which will be played on October 13.

Meanwhile, India, who are set to face Nepal on September 2 and 5 in international friendlies ahead of the upcoming SAFF Championship, have already begun the preparatory camp, with 24 players currently part of it. 7 players from ATK Mohun Bagan and 4 from Bengaluru FC will also join the camp once their respective clubs' AFC Cup group stage matches are finished.

The 24 players currently present in the national team preparatory camp are: Dheeraj Singh, Vishal Kaith. Asish Rai, Seriton Fernandes, Rahul Bheke, Adil Khan, Chinglensana Singh, Narender Gahlot, Akash Mishra, Mandar Rao Dessai, Bipin Singh, Brandon Fernandes, Lalengmawia, Glan Martins, Jeakson Singh, Pronay Halder, Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad, Mohammed Yasir, Halicharan Narzary, Rahul KP, Farukh Choudhary, Ishan Pandita and Rahim Ali.

The 11 players who will join after the AFC Cup group stage matches are completed are: Amrinder Singh, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Pritam Kotal, Ashutosh Mehta, Subhasish Bose, Udanta Singh, Suresh Wangjam, Ashique Kuruniyan, Liston Colaco, Manvir Singh and Sunil Chhetri.