8 Contenders for the Top Goalscorer Award in Season 5 of the Indian Super League

The Indian Super League is nearing it's beginning and before all the action kicks off, we take a look at the stars who excite their teams' fans the most.

These eight players are the definition of attacking mentality, pace and extreme confidence. Here's a look at the eight contenders who should vie for the top goalscorer's position in season five of the Indian Super League - 

8. Matej Poplatnik

Slovenian goal machine Matej Poplatnik agreed a long-term contract with Kerala Blasters in June this year.

The 26-year-old forward was the third foreign signing made by the Blasters after Slavisa Stojanovic and Cyril Kali. Poplatnik scored 16 goals in 34 games for his previous club and fans will expect him to fill the gap left by Kerala's all-time top scorer Iain Hume.

7. Tim Cahill

Australian legend Tim Cahill will be spearheading Jamshedpur FC's attack this season in the Indian Super League.

One of Premier League's great players, Cahill was the first ever player from an AFC nation to be nominated in the top 50 of the Ballon d'Or list. His lethal prowess in front of goal will definitely give an extra boost to Jamshedpur. 

6. Jeje Lalpekhlua

Chennaiyin FC forward Jeje Lalpekhlua is the leading goalscorer in the history of the Indian Super League with 22 goals in total.

Last season, the 27-year-old striker played 20 games and scored nine goals for Chennai. Very few players in the ISL can be statistically compared to Jeje which shows the quality of his contribution for his team.

5. Manuel Lanzarote

Manuel Lanzarote is a Spanish midfielder who started his youth career with Barcelona and his senior career with Barcelona’s C and B teams, respectively. 

The 34-year-old veteran winger spent the 2017-18 season at FC Goa where he scored 13 goals and provided six assists in 19 games before moving to ATK for this season's Indian Super League.

4. Coro

FC Goa's Spanish striker Ferran Corominas also called as 'Coro' was one of the most lethal strikers in the Indian Super League in the last campaign, especially considering it was his first time playing in India.

The striker scored 18 goals and provided five assists in 20 games last season as he won the golden boot in the Indian Super League last season. This season too, Goa will depend on his form and excellence if they are to do well in the league.

3. Marcelinho

FC Pune striker Marcelo Pereira aka Marcelinho has been one of the most consistent forwards in the Indian Super League.

The Brazilian scored 10 goals and provided five assists in 15 games in the 2016 season of the ISL. He kind of replicated the same ratio last season in 2017-18 as he played a total of 17 games for Pune, scoring eight goals and providing seven assists.

On his day, Marcelinho can prove to be destructive for the opposition in this upcoming season.

2. Miku

Bengaluru FC's number seven, Nicolás Ladislao Fedor Flores also known as Miku, has been one of the standout performers for the club since he arrived in 2017 from Rayo Vallecano in Spain.

The 33-year-old Venezuelan has formed a blockbuster strike partnership with Indian national team captain Sunil Chhetri at Bengaluru FC.


Last season, he made 20 appearances for the Blues and scored 15 goals. However, if he improves on his 34% goal conversion rate, Miku could prove to be lethal for Bengaluru this season.

1. Sunil Chhetri

Indian football team's captain and legend Sunil Chhetri will yet again lead the line for Bengaluru FC this season in the ISL.

The 34-year-old superstar forward is the heartbeat of Bengaluru FC whenever they play. Chhetri played a heroic role in the Blues' last season in the ISL. He featured in 21 games and scored 14 goals. 

Chhetri's heroics led to him winning the award for the most goals scored by an Indian in the ISL last season. This season, the Indian captain will be raring to go and wipe out the pain of the defeat against Chennaiyin in the ISL final.