La Liga

5 Epic La Liga Title Battles in History

Mudeet Arora
Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid have competed in one of the greatest La Liga title battles this season
Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid have competed in one of the greatest La Liga title battles this season / Soccrates Images/Getty Images

The Spanish La Liga 2020-21's title race is going right down to the wire with just two points separating each of the top three clubs Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid and FC Barcelona with two games remaining.

This season has been one of the greatest title race we've witnessed from Spain for quite some time. Last season, Real Madrid claimed the title with a five point gap over runners up Barcelona. This time though, Atletico look adamant in winning the league, making it pretty intriguing to follow as a neutral.

Leaving out the ongoing 2020-21 title race, which may be one of the best ever, today we take a look at five of the greatest ever La Liga title races in history.

1. FC Barcelona/Deportivo La Coruna in the 1993-94 season

Hristo Stoichkov, Begiristain, FC Barcelona
Hristo Stoichkov led Barcelona to a title win in the 1993-94 La Liga season / Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Deportivo were in the race for the La Liga title in brilliant fashion in the 1993-94 season.

They were on top of the table, three points ahead of Barcelona with four games left in the season.

Real Madrid were no where in the title picture. With Deportivo requiring just two wins out of their remaining four games to win the title, they ended up drawing their next three games to hand the advantage to Barcelona.

The Blaugrana then won their last game and Deportivo could still have won the title had they beaten Valencia on the final matchday.

Deportivo were heading for a draw when they were awarded a penalty just minutes before the final whistle.

Their Serbian defender Miroslav Dukic missed from the penalty spot and handed Barcelona their fourth successive league title. Both teams ended on 56 points but the Blaugrana had a superior head-to-head record.

2. Real Madrid/Barcelona in the 2006-07 season

David Beckham, Ronaldinho
The Galacticos era faced off against Barcelona's golden generation in the 2006-07 season / Denis Doyle/Getty Images

One of the greatest title races in La Liga history saw Real Madrid and Barcelona lock horns.

Barca were on top of La Liga for most part of the season but they suffered in the second half of their campaign.

Los Blancos took advantage of that. The last matchday arrived and Real Madrid needed a win to secure the title.

Both teams ended their campaign on 76 points each but Real Madrid were awarded the title due to their superior head-to-head record that season.

3. Real Madrid/Barcelona/Atletico Madrid in the 1991-92 season

La Liga, FC Barcelona
Ronald Koeman led Barcelona to the title in the 1991-92 season / VI-Images/Getty Images

The 1991-92 season was a unique season in La Liga history as it was a three horse race on the way to the title.

Atletico looked comfortable for most part of the season and it wasn't until matchday 35 that they started to collapse after blowing a 2-1 lead against Real Madrid at the Santiago Bernabeu. They lost that match 3-2.

Los Blancos then dropped points in their next two games and the title race went to the last day with Real Madrid simply needing a win to win the La Liga title.

They lost 2-3 to Tenerife leading to Barcelona being crowned champions of Spain.

Barcelona won the league with 55 points, Real Madrid came second with 54 and Atletico came in third with 53 points.

4. Barcelona/Real Madrid in the 2015-16 season

FC Barcelona Trophy Celebration Parade
FC Barcelona 2015-16 La Liga Trophy Celebration Parade / David Ramos/Getty Images

This La Liga title race is definitely the closest and most intense battles in the league's history.

At one point in the season, the league just became a three horse race as Atletico, Real and Barca just kept winning games until there were 5 matches left in the season and even one slip up could end a club's title winning dreams.

But, Atletico slipped up. Real Madrid and Barcelona won their remaining games and the Blaugrana claimed the title with a one point lead, winning their sixth title in eight years.

Barcelona ended the season with 91 points, with Real Madrid coming second with 90 points.

5. Real Madrid/Real Sociedad in the 2002-03 season

Real Madrid, La Liga title
Real Madrid won the league in the 2002-03 season / RICHARD A. BROOKS/Getty Images

Los Blancos were at the peak of their Galacticos era when this battle took place.

With Ronaldo Nazario, Luis Figo, Zinedine Zidane and many more superstars, Real Madrid were firm favourites to win La Liga in the 2002-03 season.

That time, Louis van Gaal's FC Barcelona were struggling in mid-table whereas Real Sociedad handed Madrid a tough fight right until the final game of the season.

Madrid won the league with 78 points as Sociedad came second with 76.