World News

5 clubs with most Ballon d'Or award wins in history

Arjun Singh Devgan
Lionel Messi has won the most Ballon d'Or awards in history
Lionel Messi has won the most Ballon d'Or awards in history / FRANCK FIFE/GettyImages

The 2021 Ballon d'Or award ceremony took place on Monday with Argentina icon, Lionel Messi winning his staggering seventh such honour, beating out competition from the likes of Bayern Munich hitman, Robert Lewandowski and Chelsea midfielder, Jorginho.

While Messi leads the players in individual honour list, we take a look at those clubs who have the most Ballon d'Or wins in the history of the awards.

1. Barcelona - 15 Ballon d'Or wins


Barcelona top this list and have Messi to thank for seven of those wins, with the Argentinian ensuring that they are very successful when it comes to having players who are the best in the world.

The Catalan giants have seen some great players ply their trade for them, with some of the previous winners being Johan Cruyff, Rivaldo and Ronaldo among others.

2. Real Madrid - 11 Ballon d'Or wins

Cristiano Ronaldo
La Liga 2017-18 - Real Madrid vs Sevilla FC / Power Sport Images/GettyImages

Barcelona's hated rivals, Real Madrid come in second with Cristiano Ronaldo winning the award four times during his time with them. The Los Blancos too have had a number of great players in their ranks in the past as seen by previous winners in Luis Figo, Zinedine Zidane and Luka Modric among other winners.

3. Juventus - 9 Ballon d'Or wins

Juventus midfielder Pavel Nedved poses,
Juventus midfielder Pavel Nedved poses, / PIERRE VERDY/GettyImages

Juventus have been one of the most successful sides in the history of club football and were extremely dominant when it came to Ballon d'Or award winners in the 1980s.

Michel Platini won three awards in a row and is arguably their greatest ever while Zinedine Zidane, Pavel Nedved, Roberto Baggio and Paolo Rossi also won the award during their time with the Bianconeri.

4. AC Milan - 8 Ballon d'Or wins

AC Milan's Brazilian midfielder Kaka wav
AC Milan's Brazilian midfielder Kaka wav / GIUSEPPE CACACE/GettyImages

AC Milan are another historic club in Europe and they have had some of the best players in their ranks over time, with Dutch legend, Marco van Basten winning it thrice for them.

Other winners include George Weah, Kaka, Andriy Shevchenko, Ruud Gullit and Gianni Rivera.

5. Bayern Munich - 5 Ballon d'Or wins


Bayern Munich have dominated the football in Germany and have produced three winners in Gerd Muller, Franz Beckenbauer and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge.

Muller won it once, Beckenbauer twice and Rummenigge back-to-back in 1981 and 1982.