5 Goalkeepers Who Have Won The Zamora Trophy Most Number of Times

Next0 / 5
BARCELONA, SPAIN - MARCH 12:  Victor Valdes of FC Barcelona during the UEFA Champions League Round of 16 match between FC Barcelona and Manchester City at Camp Nou on March 12, 2014 in Barcelona, Spain.  (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

When somebody says La Liga, one's first reaction is to think Real Madrid and Barcelona, and after that, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. Effectively, we all think directly about goals when we think about the Spanish league. 

No one seems to remember the men between the posts who ensure that the scoreline remains human, and in many cases, outperform the strikers by guarding the goal with their lives.

The Ricardo Zamora Trophy has been awarded to the best goalkeeper in the league by Spanish newspaper Marca since 1958. 

Although started in 1958, Marca have, in the past few years, published the list for the winners before the award was established. The award is decided based on the goal-to-game ratio. 

Over the years many goalkeepers have won the trophy with an elite few winning the trophy on multiple occasions. 

We take a look at the goalkeepers who have won the Zamora Trophy the most times:

Next0 / 5
Next1 / 5

5. Ricardo Zamora (3)

Ricardo Zamora is the man after whom the trophy has been named. The Spanish keeper played for Catalonian clubs Espanyol and Barcelona while he also turned out for Real Madrid. 

Apart from his stylish outfits, it was his goalkeeping abilities that made him one of the best in the world and won him a lot of praise.

Known for his lightning-quick reflexes, shot-stopping ability and bravery during a time when goalkeepers hardly had any protection, Zamora established himself as an all-time great. 

His first trophy win came in 1929 for conceding the least number of goals as Espanyol went on to win the title, while his other two came when he was playing for Real Madrid. 

Next1 / 5
Next2 / 5

4. Santiago Canizares (4)

Santiago Canizares began his career at Real Madrid playing for their C and B teams before spending one season with the main team. 

Making just 41 appearances across four seasons, the Spaniard moved to Valencia CF to replace the legendary Andoni Zubizaretta. In his time at the Mestalla, he helped the club win eight trophies while he himself scooped the Zamora Trophy on four occasions. 

His wins in 1992–93 (shared), 2000/01, 2001/02 and 2003/04 led to the legendary Peter Schmeichel himself regarding him to be one of the finest goalkeepers in the world. 

Next2 / 5
Next3 / 5

3. Juan Acuña (4)

​Juan Acuna spent most of his playing career at Galician club Deportivo la Coruna. The Spanish goalkeeper was one of the best of his time but sadly there is a lack of stats to show exactly how good he was.

Despite facing fitness issues and having an injury-prone career, apart from issues due to being overweight, the natural talent of the shot-stopper led to him winning the Zamora Trophy four times in the seasons 1941/42, 1942/43, 1949/50 and 1950/51. 

Next3 / 5
Next4 / 5

2. Victor Valdes - (5)

​While Victor Valdes is mercilessly trolled on social media when he makes a mistake, one must acknowledge that he's been one of the best goalkeepers Spain has produced. 

Valdes began his career at Barcelona's famed La Masia setup and broke into the first team in the 2003-04 season. 

The next season saw him start almost all of the club's games as the Catalonian side won the league for the first time in six years. A key component of this winning team was the goalkeeper who kept the most clean sheets in the league. 

The Blaugrana won the league title on every occasion their Spanish goalkeeper won the Zamora Trophy except for one. 

The goalkeeper won the award in 2004/05, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2010/11 and 2011/12, showing just how important he was to the Catalan club.

Next4 / 5
5 / 5

1. Antoni Ramallets - (5)

​Antoni Ramallets spent a vast majority of his playing career at FC Barcelona, then called Clube de futbol Barcelona, after making a move from Real Valladolid at the age of 23. 

Although he wasn't a starter immediately, he later established himself as a crucial member of the famous Barcelona side of the 50s and 60s. 

His first full season was the 1951/52 season and that was the season he won his first Zamora Trophy. 

He won a further four times in 1955/56, 1956/57, 1958/59, and 1959/60. The importance of his performances were determined by the fact that the club won the title on three of the five occasions that he won the award.

5 / 5