4 Players Who Have Won the Champions League in Consecutive Seasons With Different Clubs

Next0 / 4
ROME - MAY 27:  Gerard Pique of Barcelona and his team mate Samuel Eto'o celebrate after Lionel Messi scored the second goal for Barcelona during the UEFA Champions League Final match between Barcelona and Manchester United at the Stadio Olimpico on May 27, 2009 in Rome, Italy.  (Photo by Jasper Juinen/Getty Images)

The ​UEFA Champions League is the most prestigious club competition in European football and winning the competition is the dream of every footballer who plays in Europe.

A small number of players rise above the competition every year and manage to get their hands on this elusive trophy. 

An even smaller number of these players succeed in winning the Champions League multiple times with many players doing it with the same team as they become part of a dynasty. 

Very few players have been able to leave a club after winning the Champions League and then go on to win it again with their new club in the next season. 

We look at the four players who managed to win the Champions League in two consecutive seasons with two different clubs:

Next0 / 4
Next1 / 4

4. Marcel Desailly (1993 - Marseille, 1994 - AC Milan)

Marcel Desailly won his first Champions League with Marseille as the French club beat AC Milan 1-0 to claim the title in the 1992/93 season. 

Interestingly, the French central defender was then signed by AC Milan ahead of the 1993/94 season, where he won the Champions League for the second time as AC Milan thrashed the then tournament favourites FC Barcelona 4-0 to seal the title. 

Moreover, he also managed to put his name on the scoresheet in the final, establishing his name among a select few. 

With the Champions League title in 1994, he became the first player to win the Champions League trophy in consecutive years with two different clubs. 

Next1 / 4
Next2 / 4

3. Paulo Sousa (1996 - Juventus, 1997 - Borussia Dortmund)

​The Portuguese defensive midfielder won the Champions League title in the years 1996 and 1997.

He played for Juventus in the 1995/96 season, where he won his first Champions League by securing a win against defending champions from the Netherlands, Ajax Amsterdam. 

The Italian club beat Ajax 4-2 on penalties, after the match was tied 1-1 following extra time. However, he was substituted in the 57th minute and did not play any part in the penalty shootout.

His second Champions League title came with Borussia Dortmund in the 1996/97 season as his Dortmund side humbled Sousa's former club Juventus 3-1 and won their first Champions League title.

Next2 / 4
Next3 / 4

2. Gerard Piqué (2008 - Manchester United, 2009 - Barcelona)

​Gerard Piqué also managed to win the Champions League in two consecutive seasons. The Barcelona centre-back won his first title with Manchester United in 2008 and then won the title with his current club in the year 2009.

The Red Devils played Chelsea in the 2008 final making it an all-English affair. Sir Alex Ferguson's men won the game 6–5 on penalties, after a 1–1 draw following extra time. However, the Spanish defender took no part in the final played in Moscow.

Piqué won his second Champions League title the season after as he left Old Trafford to go back to hometown club Barcelona. 

The Catalan giants defeated Ferguson's United 2-0 in the final thanks to goals from Samuel Eto’o and Lionel Messi. 

Currently, the Spanish defender has four Champions League titles to his name, of which three came with the Blaugrana.

Next3 / 4
4 / 4

1. Samuel Eto'o (2009 - Barcelona, 2010 - Inter Milan)

​Samuel Eto’o won two consecutive Champions League titles, the first with Barcelona and the second with Inter Milan.

The Cameroonian striker scored the opener in the tenth minute against Manchester United in the 2009 final as Barcelona went on to win the final 2–0, completing the treble in their first season under manager Pep Guardiola. 

This was his second Champions League title with the Catalan Giants. He won his first title in the 2005/2006 season where he managed to put his name on the scoresheet as they beat Arsenal 2-1 in the final.

His next title came in the year 2010 under Jose Mourinho. Inter Milan won the Champions League that year beating Bayern Munich 2-0 in the final, with Diego Milito scoring both goals. The Italian club also completed the continental Treble in 2009/2010 season. 

Apart from winning the title in two consecutive seasons with different clubs, Samuel Eto'o also became the first player to win two consecutive continental trebles with two different teams.

4 / 4