FIFA have released the short-list for the 2016 Best Women's Player Award for the honour of being named the top female star on the planet this year.

FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2015

United States national team captain Carli Lloyd, winner of FIFA's last World Player of the Year accolade for 2015 (above), features on the list once more for a calendar year that has seen her score as many as 15 international goals.

Lloyd is joined on the list by three of Germany's Olympic gold medal winning squad, Melanie Behringer, who top scored at the tournament in Brazil, Sara Däbritz (pictured, main image & below), a team-mate of Behringer's at Bayern Munich, and Dzsenifer Marozsán, who notably scored the opening goal in the gold medal match.


Swedish forward Lotta Schelin won an Olympic silver medal over the summer, while Canada's Christine Sinclair powered her country to the bronze medal after scoring three times during the competition.

Brazilian superstar Marta (pictured below), the five-time former World Player of the Year winner who was denied an Olympic medal on home soil by Sinclair's Canada, is also nominated.

French pair Camille Abily and Amandine Henry, and Japan's Saki Kumagai complete the list.

Brazil vs Sweden -  Semi Final: Women's Football - Olympics: Day 11

Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016 Short-List:

Camille Abily (Olympique Lyonnais & France)

Melanie Behringer (Bayern Munich & Germany)

Sara Däbritz (Bayern Munich & Germany)

Amandine Henry (Portland Thorns & France)

Saki Kumagai (Olympique Lyonnais & Japan)

Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash & USA)

Dzsenifer Marozsán (FFC Frankfurt/Olympique Lyonnais & Germany)

Marta (FC Rosengård & Brazil)

Lotta Schelin (Olympique Lyonnais/ FC Rosengård & Sweden)

Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns & Canada)

Already this week, FIFA have announced the nominees for Best Women's Coach and Best Men's Coach, with the list for Best Men's Player to follow on Friday.

The short-list for the Puskas (best goal) award and the list of players in contention for the mens's FIFPro World XI are due to be released at a later date.

The winners in all eight categories for the newly conceived 'Best FIFA Football Awards' will be named at the annual gala in Zurich on 9th January 2017.

To continue the discussion on Twitter follow @jamiespencer155