Premier League

4 of Premier League's season highest-scoring duo in history

Arjun Singh Devgan
Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge were unplayable for Liverpool in the 2013/14 season
Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge were unplayable for Liverpool in the 2013/14 season / Ben Hoskins/GettyImages

The Premier League is widely considered to be the best and most competitive league in the world, with it playing host to some of the greatest striker partnerships in modern day football. But who are the top four greatest striker partnerships in the history of the league? Courtesy of statistics from Transfermarkt, we give you the best ones.

Note: The stats take into the two highest goalscorers for the club that particular season and will not necessarily include two out and out centre-forwards.

1. Newcastle United (1993/94) - Andy Cole (34), Peter Beardsley (21) - 55 goals

Andrew Cole, Lee Clark
Andy Cole and Lee Clark Newcastle United 1994 / Getty Images/GettyImages

Newcastle United were promoted to the Premier League after a gap of four years and Kevin Keegan's side enthralled audiences with their attacking style and verve of play.

Nicknamed as "Entertainers" by the media, the side were led by the strike partnership of Andy Cole and Peter Beardsley who netted a combined 55 goals between them - which still remains the most for a strike duo in league history.

Despite the heroics of the duo, Newcastle could only manage to finish third in the league table.

2. Liverpool (2013/14) - Luis Suarez (31), Daniel Sturridge (22) - 53 goals

Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge
Cardiff City v Liverpool - Premier League / Ben Hoskins/GettyImages

Liverpool enjoyed memorable season in 2013/14, scoring a staggering 101 league goals led by the unplayable Luis Suarez who netted 31 of those to win the Premier League Golden Boot as well as the PFA Player of the Year award.

The Uruguayan was well supported by Daniel Sturridge who scored 22 himself to keep the Reds in the hunt for the title. Unfortunately for them, they fell behind Manchester City in the title stakes.

3. Chelsea (2009/10) - Didier Drogba (29), Frank Lampard (22) - 51 goals

Chelsea's Didier Drogba (L) and Frank La
Chelsea's Didier Drogba (L) and Frank La / ADRIAN DENNIS/GettyImages

Chelsea in the first season under Carlo Ancelotti were a treat to watch scoring 103 goals to waltz their way to the league title and key to that was the duo of Didier Drogba and Frank Lampard.

Drogba scored 29 goals, while Lampard netted 22 of his own in a team that were unplayable at their best.

4. Blackburn Rovers (1994/95) - Alan Shearer (34), Chris Hutton (15) - 49 goals

PALACE V BLACKBURN / Mike Hewitt/GettyImages

The 1994/95 season marked the first time in 81 years that Blackburn Rovers won the league title and they had Alan Shearer to thank for that as he netted 34 goals to win the Golden Boot award.

He was ably supported by Chris Hutton with 15 goals, with the star making it to the PFA Team of the Year.