3 players who should have won the Ballon d'Or award

Arjun Singh Devgan
Wesley Sneijder had a brilliant 2009/10 season for both club and country
Wesley Sneijder had a brilliant 2009/10 season for both club and country / Valerio Pennicino/GettyImages

The 2021 Ballon d'Or award ceremony took place on Monday with Argentina icon, Lionel Messi winning a staggering seventh such honour, though a debate emerged that Bayern Munich hitman, Robert Lewandowski deserved to win the award due to his brilliant form during the particular time period.

Here, we take a look at three other players who deserved to win the Ballon d'Or but were sadly ignored.

1. Wesley Sneijder - 2010

Wesley Sneijder
FC Internazionale Milano v SV Werder Bremen - UEFA Champions League / Valerio Pennicino/GettyImages

Wesley Sneijder moved to Inter Milan in 2009 and he made an immediate impact, leading the club to the Serie A title and the 2010 Champions League honour.

The Dutchman was a talisman for his country too, helping Netherlands reach the final of the 2010 World Cup and in all he won numerous individual honours and that he did not win the Ballon d'Or award in 2010 came as a surprise to many.

2. Franck Ribery - 2013

Franck Ribery
Ian MacNicol Archive / Ian MacNicol/GettyImages

Many including Franck Ribery himself believed that he was robbed of the award in 2013, considering that he played an instrumental role in Bayern Munich winning the treble in the 2012/13 season.

The Frenchman provided the assist for the winning goal in the Champions League final and we was at his imperious best in that campaign, scoring 11 goals in all competitions while also registering the most assists in the Bundesliga with 15 to his name.

3. Virgil van Dijk - 2019

Virgil van Dijk
Liverpool FC v Wolverhampton Wanderers - Premier League / Chris Brunskill/Fantasista/GettyImages

Virgil van Dijk joined Liverpool in January 2018 and the following season showed just why he was so highly rated as he completely revolutionised their defence and was the key reason why the Reds won the Champions League and the proceeding Premier League title.

The Dutchman was named the PFA Player of the Year and the UEFA Player of the Year, but failed to win the biggest honour in the form of the Ballon d'Or.