Indian Football

2021 AFC Cup: Bengaluru FC vs Bashundhara Kings: Preview, Where to Watch in India and Team News

Arjun Singh Devgan
Bengaluru FC are currently participating in the 2021 AFC Cup
Bengaluru FC are currently participating in the 2021 AFC Cup / Matthew Ashton - AMA/Getty Images

Indian Super League (ISL) side, Bengaluru FC will be aiming to register their first points on board when they face Bangladesh's, Bashundhara Kings in their second Group D clash of the 2021 AFC Cup on Saturday, 21 July at the Maldives National Football Stadium.

After losing to countrymen, ATK Mohun Bagan in their opener, the Bengaluru outfit know that it is a must win game for them in order to remain in the competition - though even a win would not be enough for them, as their fortunes depend on the second game later in the night.

Bengaluru FC for their part will take hope in their excellent record against teams from Bangladesh, winning three out of the four games they have played against Bangladeshi sides - albeit all four match-ups were against Abahani Limited Dhaka in the 2017 and 2018 editions of the AFC Cup.

Bashundhara Kings are an entire different proposition, looking comfortable and dominant in their opening 2-0 win Maziya Recreation S&C on Wednesday, and will look for a repeat performance on the night.

When is the game?

The match between Bengaluru FC and Bashundhara Kings is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 21 August at the Maldives National Football Stadium at 4:30pm IST.

How and where to watch the game?

There telecast of the 2021 AFC Cup group stage games featuring the ISL sides will be telecasted on Star Sports and Disney+Hotstar VIP. The updates of the game will be available on the club's socials media handles while Bengaluru FC will also be streaming the games from BFC TV- the club's official YouTube channel.

Team News:

Bengaluru FC

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Lalthuammawia Ralte, Lara Sharma, Sharon Padattil.

Defenders: Pratik Chaudhari, Wungngayam Muirang, Ajith Kumar, Ashique Kuruniyan, Parag Shrivas, Yrondu Musavu-King, Biswa Darjee, Alan Costa, Sarthak Golui.

Midfielders: Suresh Wangjam, Namgyal Bhutia, Jayesh Rane, Danish Farooq, Rohit Kumar, Muhammad Inayat, Ajay Chhetri.

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Udanta Singh, Cleiton Silva, Leon Augustine, Naorem Roshan Singh, Bidyashagar Singh, Sivasakthi Narayanan, Akashdeep Singh, Harmanpreet Singh.